Rotary Secondary School Citizenship Awards

On the 12th of September 2017, Citizenship Awards were presented to senior students from High Schools and Colleges within the Wynnum Manly and surrounding areas. This year marked the 35th Year in which the Rotary Club of Wynnum and Manly has conducted these Awards. 

The Citizenship Awards are presented to each recipient for outstanding leadership and achievements within their Schools and or College’s, for the effort each puts into the different areas of community work they engage in.

These awards recognise the involvement of a Year 12 Student in the community life of their school and the local environment where the student lives. The rationale behind this “award” is that the student has participated with a high level of commitment, in a wide range of endeavours which may include academic, community service, sporting, musical or theatrical activities.

The 2018 Awards were presented to Samara Ranie of Balmoral State High School, Hayden Boyd of  Brisbane Bayside State College, Scot Salvati of Cannon Hill Anglican College, Matthew Lynch of Iona College, Grace Nakamura of Lourdes Hill College, Jackson Wilmott of Moreton Bay Boys College, Yathu Ketheesan of Moreton Bay College, Khristine Valdellon of Wynnum State High School. 

All students were nominated and introduced by Staff from the School or College they attend. Congratulations were offered to all recipients on the amount of work they do for their school or college or the community in addition to their academic achievements.